Food Fridays: Arugula, Prosciutto, & Strawberries

Note: I’m spending so much time in the kitchen these days (to my great pleasure, because I love food and making food, and it forces me to spend time NOT holding the baby) I thought I’d share some successful recipes here every Friday.

Spring is here! Never in my life have I noticed how quickly and beautifully plants bloom until now, while hanging around home with the baby day in and day out. We’ve got a bed of arugula outside that’s growing in every direction, and not picking it daily would be a sin. 

So in light of the new season and the rampant arugula, I whipped up a light lunchtime arugula salad adapted from  this recipe. I’m excited to see spring, but I’m secretly hoping summer would arrive because I spent last summer so pregnant and swollen I could barely bring myself to the refrigerator. Given that the original recipe was intended for fresh summertime figs, I replaced the figs with more accessible strawberries (yum!) While arugula is known for its peppery flavor, the prosciutto adds salty depth and complements the light tanginess of the strawberries. I ate this salad over an hour ago and I’m still satisfied – which is a good sign in my book. 

Image taken w/ Samsung Galaxy S4 Mobile, edited w/ VSCO Cam preset A6
 
Salad:
1/2 lb arugula, about 2 bunches
6 medium strawberries
6 slices of prosciutto
1 shallot, thinly sliced
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan 

Dressing: 
2 tbs balsamic vinegar
6 tbs extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 tsp dijon mustard
1 tsp honey
dash of freshly ground pepper
In a tightly closed jar or container, mix all the dressing ingredients together and shake it like a polaroid picture. Some prefer to whisk dressing ingredients together, which you can also do. 
Over washed and stemmed arugula, thinly slice strawberries lengthwise. Trim fat off prosciutto if desired, and gently tear each slice in 2 or 3 pieces. Add thin slices of a shallot, toss together and sprinkle Parmesan cheese over salad to your liking. Serves 6.

Happy Friday, and Happy Eats!
 

Leave a Reply

