Super Easy Mini Chicken Pot Pies + Hey, Why Don’t You #wifeloreealready

Chris and I are not married. Don’t get me wrong, we have a wonderful relationship. We just celebrated our 3 year anniversary and have grown tremendously as young adults and as a parenting team. We’ve talked about marriage and all the wonderful reasons to wait, and ways that we can continue to strengthen our relationship together no matter what our labels may be.

Nevertheless, I started a hashtag project called #wifeloreealready. It was mostly a joke that began a couple months ago when I posted a picture on instagram of a beautiful cold marinated steak bowl I made from this recipe, and I snuck in the hashtag “#wifeme.” This quip appeared on subsequent foodstagram posts with the more urgent hashtag, “#wifemealready.” I wanted to make a lighthearted point that I can make some pretty damn delicious homemade meals that increase my wifey potential,* meal by meal. So then I thought, why not take it a step further and create my own unique hashtag so folks can follow my culinary journey to getting wifed up. Thus, #wifeloreealready was born.

Screenshot_2014-11-17-12-16-41-1

I invite you to get on Instagram and check out my #wifeloreealready, where I make mouthwatering food like hazelnut brown butter cookie bars for dessert and shakshouka for breakfast.

Joking aside, there is some underlying truth that one day I’d like a special someone to put a ring on it (when the time is right for both of us). For now, I suppose I’m cool with my girlfriend-baby-mama-wifey-decent-cook-supermom status. But on a final note, if this hashtag project collects more than a hundred unique pictures of scrumptious concoctions and I become some kind of wizard in the kitchen, I better have a ring on it at that point.

Super Easy Mini Chicken Pot Pies: yields 10-12, 45 min-1 hr prep

PotPie1

Ingredients:
1lb Chicken Breast, cut up in small bite sized pieces
2 – 10.5oz cans Cream of Chicken (I used Campbell’s)
1 small onion, diced
2 carrots, peeled and diced
1/2 – 1 cup frozen peas
(or use frozen vegetable medley, or any vegetables around the kitchen)
2 tablespoons butter or oil
2 lbs frozen pie dough, thawed (I used puff pastry)
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp dried thyme

1 egg + 1 teaspoon of water for eggwash
cooking spray

Other tools:
2 circular cookie cutters, 1 larger than the other to fit into muffin tins (You can use the rim of drinking glasses, used tin cans, or used plastic tubs.)
Muffin tin

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Spray muffin tin with cooking spray.

1) In a deep saucepan over medium-high heat, melt the butter and add onion and carrots until onion is translucent and carrots are bright orange, about 3 mins. Add the chicken and stir until mostly cooked, 3-5 mins. Then, pour in the cream of chicken, peas or other veggies, thyme, salt, and stir. Reduce heat slightly to avoid splatter. Cook until chicken is cooked through, another 10 minutes. Turn off heat and let cool.

2) On a clean surface, sprinkle flour and lay out thawed pie dough. Cut up 10-12 big and little circles. Press down the bigger circles of dough into the muffin tin cups and up the side. Spoon in the chicken mixture until it levels out on top, and cover with the smaller circles of dough. Pinch the sides of the dough to seal in the chicken mixture. Repeat until all pies are formed.

3) Beat a whole egg and a teaspoon of water to make eggwash. Brush the tops of the pot pies with mixture.

4) Put in oven for 15-18 minutes, or until golden brown on top. Let cool for 15 minutes before enjoying!

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

And remember, #wifeloreealready 🙂

* I am not saying that a woman needs to be a good cook in order to be a good wife. I’m saying it would be nice to make me your wife if you want something good to eat every now and then. Especially if your name is Christopher Valenzuela and you can barely cook.

5 thoughts on “Super Easy Mini Chicken Pot Pies + Hey, Why Don’t You #wifeloreealready

  1. Hey Loree! It was great seeing you and meeting Jo this past Saturday. She’s even cuter in pictures. I want to vote for her in that Gerber thing you mentioned! Anyway, hope you’re doing well and that we can hang out more in the near future!

    – Christine

    Like

Leave a Reply

